Down Time

Last week I sprained my knee and am awaiting the start of physical therapy to remedy this injury. My husband is also getting rotator cuff surgery tomorrow. Between these two events, my exercise regimen is definitely on hold. I think I’ve been lucky that I’ve had the time and wellness to sustain my fitness goals for several years. While I do ordinarily have plenty of competing demands on my time, I have found a way to keep going. It’s almost as if I have been blessed with time again and again, even with working full time and raising my daughter all the while. Just when I’d lose hope that I wouldn’t be able to fit in a workout or make a decent meal, the pace of my day would slow down just enough to make these priorities a reality. I haven’t had to cope with a true hiatus since before I started getting in shape in 2010.

I’ve had to reassure myself that a couple weeks of down time won’t ruin my efforts. This time is crucial to the healing of both my husband and me. Without a pause, one or both of us may not be well enough to be active in the long term. In the meantime, it’s been harder to eat well because I’m accustomed to thinking of diet and exercise together. I don’t want to think about how much less I should be eating.

Thus interlude will be over soon enough, but it has already given me some insight into why people can be apt to gain weight after injuries. It’s much harder to make a priority of eating right when there is less opportunity for exercise. There is more time to be tempted by food, yet you need to eat less to keep off extra weight that can aggravate your injury.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

