Simple Raspberry Smoothie

30290697966_8ae3a57b88_z

Here’s an easy treat that is diet friendly. There are some foods I avoid because they seem like a drug to me. Among them are chocolate-iced sandwich cookies, sweet white dinner rolls, and ice cream. I am better off not buying those items because I will just eat them until they’re gone. I have found a way to enjoy the smooth frozen sweetness of ice cream while avoiding my tendency to overindulge in such a treat.

I can’t overdo it with this concoction because I must make this each time I want it. While it is a cold treat, it does not freeze well.

When pulverized with a blender, the ice crystals in frozen fruit rival the smoothness of soft serve ice cream. The tartness of the fruit provides such vivid flavor that I don’t miss the chocolate or other stir-in ingredients I might find in ice cream, too.

To whip up this smoothie, blend the following ingredients:

  • 1 cup frozen raspberries
  • 5-6 oz low fat yogurt such as Dannon Light and Fit, raspberry or vanilla flavor
  • 1/4 milk (may be omitted if you’d like to mimic the ice cream experience more fully)

I usually add a teaspoon of Splenda to sweeten this treat. It’s good with no added sweetener, but it is very tart.

This mixture works well with many different frozen fruits. A banana can also be added.

Leave a Reply

