Carry On, Love is Coming to Us All

As I was driving home today, I noticed that our latent fall is waking up in some places. I drove past several sugar maples in full blaze and felt a bit of agony, knowing that I’d be chasing the light by the time I was able to get them with my camera. The most vivid were on country roads because they’d been exposed to the least restrained sunlight.

Since there was too much traffic to justify trying to get pictures of the best I’d already seen, I opted to visit a couple parks. There wasn’t much orange or red to see yet in those places. The trees there are too sheltered by other trees to peak quickly. I hope I won’t miss them when they hit their prime later this month.

I took the picture above because I liked how the evening sun dappled through the branches of that locust tree. I am intrigued a how a camera can reveal different ways of seeing something. The eye usually sees landscapes better than a camera does. I think this is why landscape photography is so challenging despite its effortless appearance to the uninitiated (I have yet to take a landscape photo that pleases me). In contrast, a camera definitely has the advantage in seeing the sun; it has no retina to risk in looking at it.

I make a point of taking pictures with the sun in them because it lets me see what my eyes don’t really want me to see. My photo walk today did not profit me much in the way of fall foliage, but it did let me see what the sun looks like through a locust tree.

As for the title of this post, the song “Carry On” by Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young has been in my head for most of the day. I didn’t chase it out of my mind because it feels timely given current events on the national scale, but it will fit the day after the election better. The song speaks of a woman, but I anticipate it will relate more to a particular man on that day.

Leave a Reply

