My Favorite Ash Tree is Done

Ash trees peak early during leaf season; they are almost bare by the time the red maples change color. There is a grove of ash trees I’ve been visiting each fall for the past ten years. I love this particular set of trees because some of their leaves were at eye level, allowing me to capture the subtle differences in the colors of their leaves. Last year I thought I missed them because the trees were already bare by the time I visited them. This year I went to them early and realized that the trees had stopped growing leaves at all. They must have been a casualty of the emerald ash borer problem in Ohio.

I’m glad I was able to get the picture above two years ago. Despite that I’d been hearing about the emerald ash borer for several years, I didn’t consider that those particular trees would be gone because of them.

I’ve taken pictures of buildings that were later demolished. I did not anticipate that I’d be taking pictures of natural things that would become defunct, too.

Leave a Reply

