Garden, June 4

305079fb-f8e5-432d-b3ff-19a3642c2df7

Yesterday I could no longer deny that time is short to create a decent garden. The garden centers are filling up with ready-made porch planters and hanging baskets, retail’s gentle way of letting customers know that their options are dwindling for summer blooms.

Once again I am relying on lots of petunias. There’s no doubt that petunias are reliable, pretty bloomers, but I think of them as the perm of home gardening. Just like I wanted big hair back in the 80’s, I want a high density of flowers in my garden beds now.

I like the wash-and-wear convenience of petunias, as well. By the way, my hair is almost always wash-and-wear. There has not been a single bottle of hairspray in this house in over a year.

I found some petunias in different sizes, from large Wave petunias to little calibrachoa (which I haven’t tried before and could be the Toni home perm of my garden, if I going to continue the hair analogy).

I also added a fuschia hanging basket. My mom had one years ago that was massive with white centers that I wish I had found when I was shopping for plants yesterday. The purple and hot pink one I found is good enough.

In other news, I can’t decide which WordPress theme would be best for this blog. I’m back to the reliable Twenty-Sixteen theme for now.

Leave a Reply

