Petunia at Dusk

35185519962_d36ef01670_k

I so wish I had a fine dashboard camera, for I tend to drive right past the more ideal photo moments I encounter. This evening I saw a full rainbow emerge from a sunburst between rain showers. The best vantage point was literally from my driver’s seat. I suppose that the optics of dashboard cameras are fixed focus and wide angle. I’d get home, review the pictures, and regret that I could not have zoomed in on whatever subject matter captivated my interest while I was driving.

I tried to cap my evening with some pictures of raindrops on the flowers in my garden, but I was not successful. The above picture was the best of the lot. It’s missing the rain I wanted to capture, but it does have some unexpected bokeh in the frame.

My petunias did not delight me as much as the oddball vehicle I spotted on the way home from work earlier this week. If I had a dashboard cam, I’d have blogged a picture of a full-size tanker truck clad with Dum Dums sucker graphics on the tank and the cab. This truck was blazing its fully saturated colors in the sunlight, and it wasn’t merely advertising this treat. This truck belonged to the Spangler Candy Company, the maker of Dum Dums. This company is located about 65 miles north of here in Bryan, Ohio.

I wondered if that tanker was filled with candy base and if it would be possible to supersaturate that solution with more sweetener by driving that truck through a heat wave. The temperature outside was 90 degrees at the moment I spotted it.

The Dum-Dums tanker wasn’t as strange as one vehicle I spotted while driving over an overpass last spring. It was one of those car carrier trucks, and its trailer was not attached. Instead, it was hauling two truck cabs just like itself. If I only I had a pictures of that oddity as it climbed and crested the overpass!

Leave a Reply

